StuStiltman
Mergie Marauder

need help

Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:00 pm

Last summed I adopted a 3 year old stud dog (Stormy) from some breeder friends of mine. Stormy was as I said a stud dog, raised in a kennel and not trained. He is a good dog, I took him hunting with me about 15 times last fall, he is very engaged in what's going on and even retrieved a couple ducks I threw for him while playing fetch. Here's the problem, storm likes to run away, when I train him in my yard he wears a check cord so he can't get away. When hunting he stays tied up unless I'm hunting out of the boat out on the lake where its not possible to run away. I'm thinking about getting him a shock collar so when he runs I can, in theory, get him to come back. My question is, is it wise to start training a 3 year old dog with a shock collar or is that one of those things they need to be raised.with. thanks.

shnelson
Mergie Marauder

Re: need help

Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:35 am

I'm far from an expert, but if I were in your shoes I would start with the foundation work as if he was 6 months old.

Go ahead and get an electronic collar for him to wear, but you need to make sure he's got his commands down before introducing the correction from it.

First priority would be to get him to heel, sit/stay and here (or come) at your command while off of the check cord. At his age and history this will probably take a lot of repetition and frustration, but it will pay off. All this while he's wearing an inactive collar so he doesn't see it as a negative tool. After a number of sessions with him wearing it, you can introduce the shock as reinforcement to the command given. Start at the lowest setting and slowly increase it until he displays discomfort with it.

Smartwork was a great asset for me even with my dog at 2 years old when I started it. Something I'd recommend checking out if you haven't yet.